County clerk nomination

Sandy Wilson, left, is congratulated by Democratic precinct member Kevin O'Neil, Beattie, after Wilson was nominated for the Marshall County Clerk position Tuesday night at the Marysville City Building.

Sandy Wilson, Beattie, was unanimously nominated as the next Marshall County Clerk at a meeting of the Marshall County Democratic Party’s central committee Tuesday night.

Wilson, if approved by Gov. Laura Kelly, will fill the unexpired term of former County Clerk Sonya Stohs, who recently resigned. Stohs has been the focus of a Kansas Bureau of Investigation probe for the past several months. Stohs’ term is set to end in January of 2020.